Skip to main content

Abstracts & Awards

Abstract submission and Presentation

BSACI 2024 abstract submission is now open!

Presenting an abstract at the BSACI Annual Conference is a unique opportunity for your work to gain exposure and recognition within the allergy community, including consideration for publication of your abstract in the Journal of Clinical and Experimental Allergy, the official journal of the society.

Abstract presenters can download guidelines for submission here:


Barry Kay Awards

Submitted abstracts will be considered for the prestigious Barry Kay Award. This award recognises Professor Barry Kay’s national and international contributions to the field of allergy and asthma, which have inspired so many young allergists and chest physicians. The award is presented each year at the BSACI Annual Conference to those whose abstract has been judged to be outstanding. Abstracts can be submitted to the following categories:

  • Basic Science
  • Paediatric Clinical
  • Adult Clinical
  • Primary Care
  • Allied Health
  • Medical Students

To view 2023 recipients of the Barry Kay award and see published abstracts for 2023 click here.

The Tony Frew Education Award

The Tony Frew Education Award is a separate award, judged from those educational abstracts which have been submitted under the category of ‘Allergy Education’.
Judging criteria is similar to the Barry Kay Award. If you would like your project to be considered, please submit it as an abstract in the Allergy Education category. The prize for this award is £250 which has been kindly supported by Professor Helen Smith. The winner will also receive a framed certificate.

Equality, Diversity & Inclusivity Abstract Award

The Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity (EDI) Award is a separate award, judged from those abstracts which have been submitted under this category.

Judging criteria is similar to the Barry Kay Award. If you would like your project to be considered, please submit it as an abstract in the EDI category.

Medical Scholarships and the Abstract Award Scheme

BSACI are offering financial support for the Annual Conference by providing the following funding for attendees.

BSACI Abstract Award Scheme 2024

This award scheme enables delegates who submit abstracts which are accepted to the conference to present their work to have the opportunity of applying for funds to support travel, registration and accommodation. The value of the award is up to £250 for UK delegates.

BSACI members as well as non-members can apply to the Abstract Award Scheme, however preference will be given to BSACI members. We are proud to be able to offer support to those who have less access to financial resources to apply to the Abstract Award Scheme.

Abstract Award Scheme applications are restricted to accepted abstracts from trainees, undergraduate students, nurses and allied health professionals. They will be awarded on the grounds of those perceived to be in most financial need or having incurred the greatest expense to attend, rather than on the strength of their abstract itself. This is consistent with our wish to make the conference as inclusive as possible. Should you have any questions please contact

How to apply:

Please send an email to no later than Monday 13th May 2024 to include the following:

  1. A supporting letter from your head of department
  2. Covering letter from yourself indicating the number of nights you are staying and informing us if you have also applied to/been awarded other funding sources for support to attend this event
  3. The title and submission ID of your submitted abstract

You will be notified of the outcome of your application on Monday 15th July 2024. If you are successful, your travel and accommodation costs will be reimbursed up to your allocated amount on production of relevant receipts after the conference.

2023 awardees

  • Magdalena Marcell, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Bashir Ado, University of Southampton
  • Ladan Ali, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Bethan Almeida, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Samantha Blamires, University of Southampton
  • Anne Boulton, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Aahil Damani, King’s College London
  • Clare Jackson, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Emily King, King’s College London
  • Emily Lamb, Great North Children’s Hospital, Newcastle Upon Tyne
  • Aravind Manoj, Sheffield Medical School
  • Magdalena Marcell, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Sharanya Nagendran, Imperial College London
  • Caitlin Pollock, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Holly Tallentire, St Georges NHS Trust
  • Olivia Wing, Imperial College School of Medicine

BSACI Medical Scholarships Scheme 2024

The BSACI is offering financial support for the 2024 BSACI Annual Conference by providing funding for medical students. With the increasing prevalence of allergy within the UK population and the shortage of allergy expertise, the BSACI is offering medical students the opportunity to apply for a scholarship to find out more about this evolving and dynamic specialty.

The 2024 BSACI Medical Scholarships Scheme is open to FY2 doctors, IMT and ST1-3 adult trainees in the UK. This is a fantastic opportunity for junior doctors to experience and hear from the experts what an exciting career in Allergy and Clinical Immunology looks like and how rewarding being a member of the UK allergy community can be.

How to apply:

  1. The scheme is open to all FY2 doctors, IMT and ST1-3 adult trainees in the UK with an interest in or considering a career in Allergy. We will cover your conference fees, plus reimburse your hotel accommodation (up to £300) and your travel expenses (up to £140).
  2. The application involves supplying a letter (maximum 300 words) detailing how you would benefit from this scholarship and a supporting letter from your current supervisor. Please also include how you can help increase awareness of the specialty of allergy either within your department or with other trainees after the conference, such as a grand round presentation, a trainee learning event or a department meeting.
  3. Abstract submission for the conference is encouraged but is not a requirement.
  4. Submissions open on Friday 2nd February 2024.
  5. Submissions must be emailed to no later than Friday 19th July 2024.
  6. You will be notified of the outcome of your application no later than Friday 2nd August.

There are 15 Medical Scholarships available. Please note previous recipients may not apply.

“I was fortunate to participate in BSACI Medical Scholarship Scheme as an Internal Medicine Trainee in 2021. This scheme enabled me to attend the BSACI Annual Conference in Harrogate, where I enjoyed excellent talks and connected with like-minded colleagues. I would definitely recommend it to any other interested trainees!”

Dr Joseph Jayasundera Medical Scholarship recipient 2021

2023 awardees

  1. Rachel Pierce
  2. Mohanad Abdelrahim
  3. Sally Ashton
  4. Danial Hakim
  5. Humaira Jamroze
  6. Hala Eltahir
  7. Phoebe Li
  8. Megan McCullagh
  9. Katherine Parker
  10. Nadjima Habibi